1. Home
  2. /
  3. Media Links
  4. /
  5. The Caribbean Mou Approves...

The Caribbean Mou Approves The Revised Scv Code

The Caribbean Memorandum of Understanding on Port State Control (CMOU) held its 19th Committee meeting in Montego Bay, Jamaica from the 24 – 26 of June, 2014. This meeting was hosted by the Government of Jamaica through the Maritime Authority of Jamaica (MAJ). At this meeting the Committee approved the revised Code for the Safety of Small Commercial Vessels (SCV) as submitted by the IMO’s Regional Maritime Advisor.

The meeting was attended by fourteen of the fifteen member States and one associate member State with only Guyana not being able to attend. In addition, the Regional Maritime Advisor of the IMO, the Deputy General Secretary of the PMOU and representatives from the United States Coast Guard, Lloyd’s Register and the Viña del Mar Agreement were in attendance.

Ambassador Dwight Gardiner, the Chairman of the CMOU and representative of Antigua and Barbuda, stated that “The revision of the SCV Code will further strengthen the inspection capabilities of the member States of the CMOU thus ensuring that the safety of our small commercial vessels in our region is of utmost importance.”

The Technical Standing Working Group (TSWG) of the CMOU presented to the Committee and received approval of the following:

  • The CIC on Safety of Navigation and Hours of Work and Rest for 2015;
  • The “Policy for the Treatment of Sub-Standard Ships”;
  • The further revision of the CCSS Code;
  • The revised SCV Code, in principle, pending the approval of the recommended amendment to the definition of a New Ship.

In addition, the Committee approved the recommendations from the Finance and Administration Standing Working Group (FASWG) for:

  • The CMOU record the income on an accrual basis in line with the recommendation of the external auditors to now be in-line with international standards and practices;
  • The development of a policy/procedure with respect to the approval of amendments to the relevant instruments of the MOU.

In addition, the FASWG proposed that the adoption of the Maritime Labour Convention, 2006 as a Relevant Instrument of the CMOU be considered at the 20th Annual CPSCC meeting in 2015.

Members were advised of the successful staging of the 6th Annual Port State Control Seminar in Willemstad, Curaçao from April 8 – 10, 2014. Participants were provided with training on the CIC on Fire Safety Systems scheduled for September – November 2014 as well as MARPOL Annex V. PSCOs participated in practical inspections on a Cruise ship and Oil Tanker. Following the seminar, two days of on-the-job training were held. Thanks were expressed to the Netherlands Shipping Inspectorate and Maritime Authority of Curaçao for providing lecturers for the seminar.

The Committee adopted the 2013 Annual Report including the overview of the activities of the CMOU for the period and the statistics including inspections totally 994, deficiencies reported totaling 1746 and 18 detentions. With respect to categories of deficiencies, Fire Safety Measures had the highest percent of total deficiencies at 16.48% followed by Safety of Navigation at 11.34%. As such, the CMOU will be undertaking a CIC on Fire Safety Systems from September – November 2014. The complete report will be available on the CMOU’s website.

Contact:               Mrs. Jodi Barrow
                                Secretary General
                                Caribbean MOU
                                12 Ocean Boulevard
                                2nd Floor, the Office Centre Building
                                Tel: 876-967-1077

For more information on the Caribbean MOU on Port State Control please consult our Internet Website on the following address: www.caribbeanmou.org

Port State Control is a check on visiting foreign ships to see that they comply with international rules on safety, pollution prevention and seafarers living and working conditions. It is a means of enforcing compliance where the owner and flag State have failed in their responsibility to implement or ensure compliance. The Caribbean MOU was signed in 1996 in Barbados and now has a complement of 15 Member States (Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Curaçao, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, the Netherlands, St. Christopher and Nevis, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago) and one Associate Member (France).


Posts by Date

May 2023